MCA Past Presidents

MCA has its roots in the Maryland Communication Cooperative, formed in 1973 with Jack Brown, then Assistant Professor of Speech at Essex Community College, as the president.

1973-1974 Jack L. Brown Essex Community College
1974-1976 Beverly Reynolds Essex Community College
1976-1977 Marion Lanham Harford Community College
1977-1978 Cyril J. Carrol Prince Georges Community College
1978-1979 Vicki Freimuth University of Maryland, College Park
1979-1980 Brian R. Naughton College of Notre Dame
1980-1981 Joseph L. McCaleb University of Maryland, College Park
1981-1982 Ann Lewis Catonsville Senior High School
1982-1983 Janet Cook Allegany Community College
1983-1984 Michael Wallinger Frostburg State College
1984-1985 Ruth Ann Patterson Catonsville Community College

From 1986 to 1997, a state association ceased to function, but in September 1997, at a meeting of interested communication professionals from across the state at the University of Maryland, College Park, the Maryland Communication Association formally organized again. Brenda Logue, Towson University, was elected president.

1997-1998 Brenda Logue Towson University
1998-1999 Michael Wallinger Frostburg State University
1999-2000 Mitchell Perkins Essex Community College
2000-2001 Roxanne Davidson Montgomery Community College
2001-2002 R. Pierre Rodgers Morgan State University
2002-2003 Ruth Wallinger Frostburg State University
2003-2004 Shirley Maase Chesapeake College
2004-2005 Shirlee Levin College of Southern Maryland
2005-2006 Carl Hyden Morgan State University
2006-2007 Jody Morrison Salisbury University
2007-2008 Jennifer Kafka Smith Community College of Baltimore County
2008-2009 Rose Piskapas Montgomery College
2009-2010 Donna Rongione Community College of Baltimore County
2010-2011 Elesha Ruminski Frostburg State University
2011-2012 Sheri Whalen Frostburg State University
2012-2013 Clover Baker Brown Prince George's Community College
2013-2014 Pamela O'Brien Bowie State University
2014-2015 Nzinga Curry Howard University